Cast and Schedule Set for Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks Tour

Cast and Schedule Set for Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks Tour

Pictured: Past Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks production at Loyola Park. Photo by Julie Stanton.

Chicago Shakespeare Theater has announced the cast, production team and schedule for the 2017 Chicago Shakespeare in the Park tour of ROMEO AND JULIET.

Directed and adapted by Marti Lyons, this free 75 minute abridged performance features Nate Santana (Romeo), Emma Ladji (Juliet), Gail Rastorfer (Nurse), Ryan Kitley (Lord Capulet), Lily Mojekwu (Lady Capulet), Brian Grey (Mercutio/Friar John), Sam Pearson (Tybalt), Lisa Tejero (Prince/Apothecary), Edgar Miguel Sanchez (Balthazar), Andrew Saenz (Paris), Peter Sipla (Peter) and Michael Perez (Friar Laurence).

The production team includes Fight Choreographer Matt Hawkins in his 22nd CST production, Scenic Designer Courtney O’Neill, Costume Designer Mieka van der Ploeg, Lighting Designer Greg Hofmann, Sound Designer Mikhail Fiksel, Wig and Make-up Designer Rick Jarvie, and Choreographer Stephanie Paul. Kathryn Walsh is the production’s Verse Coach.

The Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour of ROMEO AND JULIET kicks off as one of the inaugural events of the new performance lawns at Polk Bros Park on Navy Pier with three performances: Wednesday, July 26; Thursday, July 27; and Friday, July 28—all at 7:00pm.

The 18 parks scheduled to be visited, rain or shine, include (from the press release):

  • Wednesday, July 26 at 7:00pm – Polk Bros Park at Navy Pier (600 E. Grand Ave.)
  • Thursday, July 27 at 7:00pm – Polk Bros Park at Navy Pier (600 E. Grand Ave.)
  • Friday, July 28 at 7:00pm – Polk Bros Park at Navy Pier (600 E. Grand Ave.)
  • Sunday, July 30 at 4:00pm – Ellis Park (3520 S. Cottage Grove Ave.)
  • Wednesday, August 02 at 6:30pm – Gage Park (2411 W. 55th St.)
  • Thursday, August 03 at 6:30pm – Kelvyn Park (4438 W. Wrightwood Ave.)
  • Friday, August 04 at 6:30pm – Eckhart Park (1330 W. Chicago Ave.)
  • Saturday, August 05 at 6:30pm – Welles Park (2333 W. Sunnyside Ave.)
  • Sunday, August 06 at 4:00pm – Welles Park (2333 W. Sunnyside Ave.)
  • Tuesday, August 08 at 6:30pm – Columbus Park (500 S. Central Ave.)
  • Wednesday, August 09 at 6:30pm – Tuley Park (501 E. 90th Pl.)
  • Thursday, August 10 at 6:30pm – Humboldt Park (1301 N. Sacramento Ave.)
  • Friday, August 11 at 6:30pm – Humboldt Park (1301 N. Sacramento Ave.)
  • Saturday, August 12 at 6:30pm – Frank J. Wilson Park (4630 N. Milwaukee Ave.)
  • Sunday, August 13 at 4:00pm – Frank J. Wilson Park (4630 N. Milwaukee Ave.)
  • Wednesday, August 16 at 6:30pm – Garfield Park (100 N. Central Park Ave.)
  • Thursday, August 17 at 6:30pm – Dvorak Park (1119 W. Cullerton St.)
  • Friday, August 18 at 6:30pm – Ridge Park (1817 W. 96th St.)
  • Saturday, August 19 at 6:30pm – Ridge Park (1817 W. 96th St.)
  • Sunday, August 20 at 4:00pm – Steelworkers Park (E. 87th St. at Lake Michigan)
  • Wednesday, August 23 at 6:30pm – Hamilton Park (513 W. 72nd St.)
  • Thursday, August 24 at 6:30pm – Piotrowski Park (4247 W. 31st St.)
  • Friday, August 25 at 6:30pm – Loyola Park (1230 W. Greenleaf Ave.)
  • Saturday, August 26 at 6:30pm – Loyola Park (1230 W. Greenleaf Ave.)
  • Sunday, August 27 at 4:00pm – Ping Tom Memorial Park (1700 S. Wentworth Ave.)

The citywide tour is made possible by a renewed civic, cultural, and corporate partnership between Chicago Shakespeare Theater, the City of Chicago, Chicago Park District, Boeing, and production sponsor BMO Harris Bank. Since the inception of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks program six years ago, more than 100,000 Chicagoans have taken advantage of free performances in their communities.

Partnering with the Chicago Park District, CST is offering ASL-interpreted performances at six of the eighteen Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour stops—two in each of the South, West and North Park District regions (dates to be announced). Sign-interpreting the performances are Elizabeth Bartlow Breslin and Will Lee. Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks will also offer an Audio-described performance for audience members who are blind or have low vision, in which a describer provides a description of visual elements of the production transmitted through headphones. Assistive-listening devices are available for all performances.

For more information visit chicagoshakes.com/parks.

About author

PerformInk

PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *