Non-Equity Jeff Awards Move to Athenaeum
Pictured: Athenaeum Theatre In an effort to accommodate more of Chicago’s theater community, the Joseph Jefferson Awards Committee announced today that the 2017 Non-Equity Jeff Awards will be held at The Athenaeum Theatre on June 5th. The Athenaeum, located at 2936 N. Southport Avenue, seats 984 patrons in its... Read more
The 2016 Equity Jeff Award Winners Are…
The Best Ensemble Jeff Award-Winning Cast of The House Theater’s UNITED FLIGHT 232, which also won the Best Play: Midsize Award, in the presence of a flight 232 survivor who was in the audience. (Michael Brosilow)   The 48th Annual Equity Jeff Awards were held at Drury Lane Oakbrook... Read more
Michael Halberstam to Receive Special Jeff Award

The Artistic Director of Writers Theatre since its inception in 1992 is being honored for outstanding theatrical accomplishments and contributions to Chicagoland theater for the past 25 years.

Read more
Jeff Awards Announces 2016 Equity Nominations

Six world premiere plays and four new adaptations were among those receiving nominations by The Jeff Awards Committee today.

Read more
43rd Annual Non-Equity Jeff Award Winners
The cast of RENT at Theo Ubique. Photo by Adam Veness “The Hairy Ape”- Eugene O’Neill’s expressionist play presented in a stark, brutal and imaginative setting; “Byhalia, Mississippi”- a new work of southern love and forgiveness, and “Rent”- the musical update of “La Boheme” performed in a small storefront theatre,... Read more
Kimberly Senior to Receive Special Jeff Award
“The theatre world is full of creative people with lots of conflicting ideas. When three agree on something, it’s a breakthrough. When 73 do, it’s almost a miracle,” says Jeff Awards Committee Chair David Liesse, “Yet 73 members of the Chicago theatre community co-signed a letter nominating Kimberly Senior... Read more
Non-Equity Jeff Award Nominees Announced

The Joseph Jefferson Awards Committee announced the slate of nominees for this year’s Non-Equity Jeff Awards, celebrating the excellence of Chicago’s non-union theaters.

Read more
Jeff Awards Announce Recognition Of Rolling Premieres 
The Joseph Jefferson Award Committee (Jeff Awards) announces that certain New Works participating in the National New Play Network Rolling Premier Program ( will be eligible for Jeff Awards consideration. Jeff Awards Chair David Liesse states, “The Jeff Awards has always encouraged the work done by playwrights in developing... Read more