Cast Complete for BUDDY at American Blues Theater

Cast Complete for BUDDY at American Blues Theater

Pictured: Zachary Stevenson 

American Blues Theater has announced complete casting and design team for “BUDDY – The Buddy Holly Story,” written by Alan Janes, directed by Lili-Anne Brown, with musical direction by Ensemble Member Michael Mahler.

The cast of BUDDY includes Angela Alise (Apollo Performer), Chuckie Benson (Apollo Performer), Liz Chidester (Vi Petty), Ian Paul Custer (Hi Pockets), Ann Delaney (Company), Vasily Deris (Big Bopper), Jennifer Dymit (Company), Alex Goodrich (Clearlake Announcer), Derek Hasenstab (Norman Petty), Molly Hernández (Maria Elena), Cisco Lopez (Ritchie Valens), Michael Mahler (Tommy / Cricket; music director), Kieran McCabe (Jerry / Cricket), Daniel Riley (Apollo Performer), Zachary Stevenson (Buddy Holly) and Shaun Whitley (Joe / Cricket).

The creative team includes Sarah E. Ross (scenic design), Samantha C. Jones (costume design), Jared Gooding (lighting design), Rick Sims (sound design), Kevin Rolfs (properties), Malcolm Ruhl (music consultant) and John Martinez (assistant director and choreographer). The Production Stage Manager is Cara Parrish.

“Buddy Holly is an American music icon. He’s regarded as one of the most significant figures in the birth of rock music and is often cited as the innovator of the traditional rock lineup of instruments – two guitars, bass, and drums. Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Eric Clapton, and Elton John all name Buddy Holly as a major inspiration in their respective careers,” notes Artistic Director Gwendolyn Whiteside. “Lost too soon, we’re fortunate to have his vast songbook and recordings. American Blues is thrilled to share his legacy with the next generation.”

“BUDDY – The Buddy Holly Story” runs April 27 – May 26, 2018 at Stage 773, 1225 W. Belmont Ave. in Chicago.  For more information visit


About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *