House Theatre Announces NUTCRACKER Cast

House Theatre Announces NUTCRACKER Cast

Pictured (Top Row, L to R): Johnny Arena (Marcel), Nicholas Bailey (David), Rom Barkhordar (Drosselmeyer), Haley Bolithon (Clara), Desmond Gray (Fritz), Amanda de la Guardia (Martha), Ben Hertel (Hugo) and Rachel Shapiro (Pheobe)

The House Theatre of Chicago has announced the cast for the return of the all-original, ballet-free, family-friendly production of THE NUTCRACKER based on the original story “The Nutcracker and the Mouse,” by E.T.A. Hoffman.

Created by company members Jake Minton, Phillip Klapperich, Kevin O’Donnell and Tommy Rapley with original direction and choreography by Rapley, the production features company members Ben Hertel as Hugo, the Robot, and Johnny Arena as Monkey with Desmond Gray as Fritz, the Nutcracker, Rachel Shapiro as Phoebe, the doll, Nicholas Bailey as David and Quite Scary Rat, Amanda de la Guardia as Martha and Really Scary Rat, Rom Barkhordar as Uncle Drosslemeyer and Really Quite Scary Rat, and Hailey Bolithon as Clara.

This fantastical expansion of the holiday classic centers on Clara’s journey to save Christmas in the face of grief. With the help of a magical nutcracker, the brave girl risks the darkness, fights the Rat King and saves her family.

THE NUTCRACKERS runs November 8 – December 30 at The Chopin Theatre, 1543 W. Division, Chicago.

For more information visit

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.