Paramount Announces Cast and Designers for World Premiere “August Rush”

Paramount Theatre has announced the cast and design team for the world premiere of “August Rush: The Musical,” with book and lyrics by Glen Berger, and music and lyrics by Mark Mancina.

Directed by John Doyle, the production will feature Broadway actors George Abud as Lewis Chapman, John Hickok as Wizard/Thomas Novacek, Leenya Rideout as Hope, Sydney Shepherd as Lyla Novacek with Jack McCarthy and Huxley Westemeier doubling as August Rush/Evan Taylor.

Pictured (l-r): George Abud, John Hickok, Leenya Rideout, Sydney Shepherd, Jack McCarthy, and Huxley Westemeier

The ensemble includes Marta Bagratuni, Alex Bender, Matt Deitchman, Ginna Doyle, Brad Giovanine, Lizzie Hagstedt, Jessie Linden, Troy Valjean Rucker, Doug Smith and Katrina Yaukey.

The production team is Dave Metzger, orchestrator and arranger; JoAnn M. Hunter, choreographer; Greg Jarrett, music director/conductor; Scott Pask, scenic designer; Ann Hould-Ward, costume designer; Paul Toben, lighting designer; Dan Moses Schreier, sound designer; Joe Burke, projection designer; Katie Cordts, wig, hair and makeup designer; Jesse Gaffney, properties designer; Trent Stork and Stewart Whitley, casting; Adam John Hunter, stage manager; Christine D’Amore, assistant stage manager; and Matthew McMullen, assistant stage manager.

Based on the original Oscar-nominated Warner Bros film, “August Rush: The Musical” is the story of Evan Taylor, an 11-year-old orphan who believes in music like some believe in fairytales. In a cruel twist of fate, Evan’s mother, an accomplished classical cellist, and his father, the lead singer of a rock band, don’t even know of his existence. From one foster home to the next, Evan refuses to give up hope in finding his parents.

“August Rush: The Musical” runs April 24 – June 2nd. For more information visit

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.