Porchlight Has Cast and Production Staff for THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS

Porchlight Has Cast and Production Staff for THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS

Photo: James Earl Jones II will portray “Haywood Patterson” in Porchlight’s THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS

Porchlight Music Theatre has announced casting for the Chicago premiere of Kander and Ebb’s THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS. Presented in the style of a “minstrel show;” THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS is based on the true-life story of nine black teenagers accused and put on trial in Memphis for a crime they did not commit, igniting the start of the modern civil rights movement.

The cast includes: Stephen Allen (Clarence Norris), Jos N. Banks (Charles Weems), Cynthia Clarey (The Lady), Cameron Goode (Eugene Williams), Izaiah Harris (Willie Roberson), Mark Hood (Mr. Tambo), James Earl Jones II (Haywood Patterson), Maurice Randle (Andy Wright), Jerome Riley, Jr. (Roy Wright), Trequon Tate (Ozie Powell), Denzel Tsopnang (Mr. Bones), Travis Austin Wright (Olen Montgomery) and Larry Yando (The Interlocutor).

The Scottsboro Boys production team includes: Samuel G. Roberson, Jr. (director), Doug Peck (music director), Florence Walker-Harris (choreographer), Breon Arzell (associate choreographer), Jared Bellot (dramaturg), Aaron Benham (conductor/pianist), Samantha Jones (costume designer), Richard Norwood (lighting designer), Mealah Heidenreich (props designer), Andrei Onegin (scenic designer), Keegan Bradac (sound designer), Ross Hoppe (projections designer), Jessica Forella (stage manager) and Alex Rhyan (production manager).


THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS RUNS February 3 – March 12 at Stage 773.

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.