Porchlight to Honor Gary Griffin with Guy Adkins Award

Porchlight to Honor Gary Griffin with Guy Adkins Award

Porchlight Music Theatre has announced that it will honor director Gary Griffin with the 9th annual Guy Adkins Award for Excellence in the Advancement of Music Theatre in Chicago. Past recipients include Brenda Didier, Rachel Rockwell, E. Faye Butler, Paula Scrofano, Hollis Resnik, Doug Peck, Dominic Missimi and L. Walter Stearns.

In addition to directing on Broadway and across the globe, Griffin has worked prolifically at Chicago’s largest institutions, including Writers Theatre, Victory Gardens, Marriott Lincolnshire, and over twenty productions at Chicago Shakespeare. His Broadway credits include “Honeymoon in Vegas,” “The Apple Tree” and “The Color Purple.”

The award will be presented at Porchlight’s 14th Annual “Chicago Sings” concert, which will be a departure from past “Chicago Sings” events. Instead of celebrating the works of an artist or genre, this iteration will focus on Porchlight itself, saluting Porchlight productions from its 25-year history.

The fundraiser event will take place Monday, Aug. 5 at 7 p.m., at The Museum of Contemporary Art, directed by Christopher Pazdernik and Artistic Director Michael Weber with music direction by David Fiorello.

Artists currently scheduled to appear include Adrian Aguilar, Charissa Armon, Neala Barron, Brianna Borger, Carrie Bramlett, Eric Bramlett, Eric Bramlett, JC Brooks, Matt Crowle, Jim DeSelm, Zachary Fewkes, Lucy Godinez, Angela Ingersoll, Bil Ingraham, Cecilia Iole, James Earl Jones II, Heidi Kettenring, Bill Larkin, Michelle Lauto, Eric Lewis, Yando Lopez, Donica Lynn, Michael Mahler, Evan Tyrone Martin, Patrick Martin, Christine Mild, Doug Peck, Gerald Richardson, Kelvin Roston, Billy Rude, Lorenzo Rush Jr, Lincoln Seymour, Bethany Thomas, Heather Townsend, Isabella Warren and Lina Wass.

More information at PorchlightMusicTheatre.org.

About author

Jason Epperson

Jason is a producer, manager, and designer with 17 years of experience in Chicago, New York, and in the touring market. In 2015, he founded Lotus Theatricals - the publisher of Performink, and an independent commercial producing company - with Abigail Trabue.