Promethean Has Its THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT Cast/Creatives

Promethean Has Its THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT Cast/Creatives

Pictured: Elaine Carlson

Promethean Theatre Ensemble has announced the cast and production team for Jean Giraudoux’s THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT.

Directed by Artistic Associate John Arthur Lewis, the production features Elaine Carlson (Countess Aurelia), Laura Sturm (Constance), Joan McGrath (Josephine), Jennifer Vance (Gabrielle), Jerry Bloom (The Ragpicker/The President), Meghann Tabor (The Peddler), Brendan Hutt (The Doctor), Tom Murphy (The Policeman/The Little Man), Brian Hurst (The Prospector/The Sewerman), Brendan Connelly (The Messenger), Brenda Wlazlo (Irma), and Xavier Lagunas (Pierre).

Top row: Elaine Carlson, Jerry Bloom, Laura Sturm, Joan McGrath. Middle row: Jennifer Vance, Meghann Tabor, Brendan Hutt, Tom Murphy. Bottom row: Brian Hurst, Brendan Connelly, Brenda Wlazlo, Xavier Lagunas

The production team includes Jeremiah Barr (scenic design), Rachel Sypniewski (costume design), and Sam Allyn (sound design).  Alexa Berkowitz will be stage manager and Jessica Haworth will be assistant director.

From the press release: First produced in 1945, Giraudoux’s satiric comedy reveals a plot by a group of corrupt business executives to dig up the streets of Paris, so they can pump oil that they believe lies beneath. Their plot is challenged by the titular “Madwoman,” the eccentric Countess Aurelia, an idealist who resolves to fight back and rescue humanity from the scheming and corrupt developers with the help of her fellow outcasts and her fellow madwomen.

“The play is surprisingly modern and accessible. In my head, it sounds like Aaron Sorkin at his funniest, Monty Python, or the craziest of M*A*S*H,” comments Lewis. “But there’s a lot of value in this play beyond the comedy. I think it can be something unique, powerful, and profound.”

THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT runs February 9th – March 17th. For more information visit

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *