American Blues Has Its “Spitfire Grill” Cast and Staff

American Blues Has Its “Spitfire Grill” Cast and Staff

Pictured: Dara Cameron

American Blues Theater has announced the cast and design team for the Chicago revival of The Spitfire Grill, based on the film by Lee David Zlotoff, with book by James Valeq and Fred Alley, lyrics by Fred Alley and music by James Valeq.

Directed by Tammy Mader with music direction by Malcolm Ruhl, the cast includes Dara Cameron (Shelby Thorpe), Ian Paul Custer (The Visitor), Karl Hamilton (Caleb Thorpe), Donterrio Johnson (Sheriff Joe Sutter), Jacquelyne Jones (Percy Talbott), Gabrielle Lott-Rogers (Effy Krayneck), and Catherine Smitko (Hannah Ferguson).

The creative team for The Spitfire Grill includes Sarah E. Ross (scenic design), Jared Gooding (lighting design), Lily Grace Walls (costume design), Rick Sims (sound design), Mary O’Dowd (props design), Shandee Vaughan (production manager), and Kate Ocker (stage manager).

Musicians include Ian Paul Custer (piano), Greg Hirte (violin), Malcolm Ruhl (accordion), Scott Sedlacek (guitar / mandolin), and Magdalena Sustere (cello).

A feisty parolee follows her dreams, based on a page from an old travel book, to a small town in Wisconsin and finds a place for herself working at Hannah’s Spitfire Grill.

“The Spitfire Grill” runs July 12 – August 17 at Stage 773, 1225 W Belmont Ave in Chicago. For more information visit

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.