League Announces Emerging Theatre Award Finalists

The League of Chicago Theatres has announced the 2019 Broadway In Chicago Emerging Theatre Award Finalists: Interrobang Theatre Project, Midsommer Flight, Underscore Theatre Company, Water People Theater, and Windy City Playhouse.

The recipient will be chosen through a vote of the League’s member companies, and honored at the organization’s annual gala on Monday, May 20, 2019 at the Palmer House Hilton.

The Broadway In Chicago Emerging Theatre Award was created in 2007 to support young theatres that have demonstrated “great ability and promise, artistic excellence and fiscal responsibility in business practices.” Eligible companies are members of the League of Chicago Theatres, and have been incorporated at least 3 and no longer than 10 years. Broadway In Chicago will provide a $5,000 cash prize along with an advertising package.

Previous award recipients include: Broken Nose Theatre, Route 66 Theatre Company, Sideshow Theatre Company, Jackalope Theatre Company, Oracle Productions, The House Theatre of Chicago, Silk Road Theatre Project (now Silk Road Rising), the side project, Steep Theatre, The New Colony, Theatre Seven of Chicago and 16th Street Theater.

Along with the Emerging Theatre Award, the League will honor Mike Nussbaum with the Lifetime Achievement Award, Free Street Theater with the Artistic Achievement Award, and Aguijón Theater with the Artistic Achievement Award. A Special Tribute Award will be given to Derrick Sanders and Allstate Insurance Company on the 10th Anniversary of the August Wilson Monologue Competition.

Tickets are available for $350 per person, and all proceeds benefit the League of Chicago Theatres. For more information, visit chicagoplays.com or call 312-554-9800.

About author


PerformInk is Chicago's entertainment industry trade publication.